Lesson Learned

Swoo! This whole week, I have spent on two silly projects. It would seem that every time I took four steps forward, I would end up having to take five steps back. It was very frustrating to say the least, but it helped me learn some very important lessons.

One, when there are tons of tutorials on how to do one thing, it would make sense to believe that there is a reason for that and the reason probably would be because that is the only way it works. For the two projects, a lampshade and a cork board, I spent the whole week working on, I had the audacity to believe that I could do it different and better. For the lampshade, I have only seen the method used on drum shades and there is a reason for that. The reason is that it’s easier and it’s nearly impossible to make a decent regular lampshade (I call them regular because I have no idea what they’re really called, but it’s those ones with the slope in them.) Anyways, I managed to come up with a compromise and although I do believe the drum shades are better, I didn’t have one at the time, so I had to make due.

The cork board was pretty much the same story.  I was trying to make a monogrammed letter which for that I had to have a wood or cardboard letters for the support. Since it would obviously be nearly impossible to find that in the dumpster and although I could find wood, I don’t have a saw that would cut it into something decent, so I decided to try and make it without the support. I needed this for my mom’s friend’s birthday, so I made the first letter of her first name which is a J. That was probably one of the worst letters I could have made for the first time and definitely one of the worst I could have tried to make without a support. After many failures and fallings apart, I finally decided I needed a support. I took a frame that still had card board in the back and I glue the letter to it. Then I took some bottle caps and glued them around the letter, so the card board didn’t show as much. It turned out okay because the caps serve as a magnetic board and the letter is a cork board, so it’s kind of cool.

Bottom line, if at all possible, follow the tutorials as closely as possibly because they know what they’re talking about.

Leave a Reply

