Five minutes Is All It Takes

Sometimes needing gasoline in my car is a real pain. There are a couple of reasons that I hate it. Every time I go it reminds me of one, the fact that I’m doing my part in destroying in the planet (even though I have a somewhat fuel efficient car, I’m always reminded that I could do better, but I don’t have the money to buy a different car). I drive as carefully as I can, such as not slamming on my breaks not slamming on the gas pedal, etc. Two, it reminds me of how heavily I rely on my car. I hate relying on anything that can be taken away. My car could definitely be taken away.  And three that it costs me an arm and a leg to fill it up. But one day my whole attitude changed.  I saw something amazing. It wasn’t anything that I hadn’t noticed before, but I saw it in a whole new light. It was a trash can. A trash can full to the brim of recyclable trash and craft items just waiting to be seen and appreciated.

My tank is pretty small, so it only takes a few minutes to fill it up, but while I waited I decided to put my time to good use. The trash was pretty easy to get to since it was pretty much heaping over. There was water bottles, recyclable ones I might add, right on the top, so I grabbed them and put them in a sack that I now keep in my car for times just like those. I had only grabbed five because then my car was ready to go.  If I had spent any more time there it would have defeated the purpose which was to show fast and easy it can be to help the environment and recycle. Just five minutes, the five minutes you would have wasted otherwise because you were waiting for your gas while, you could save five bottles. That will depend on how many times you have to get gas and how many times you need it.  If you fill up your tank once a week for a year, then you can get 260 bottles. That doesn’t seem like much, but one bottle can light 60-watt light bulb for 6 hours. Recycling one aluminum can saves enough energy to keep a 100-watt bulb burning for almost four hours or run your television for three hours.  It doesn’t get any easier, it won’t hurt anyone or anything, and you just can’t go wrong. I recycled the bottles and kept the caps for one of my projects.

Leave a Reply

