Spring Break 2012

This break is very refreshing to me. Right now I’m sitting outside watching the sunrise and I can see the mountains. There is a cool breeze and everything is quiet.

I’m in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee and in my view is the Smokey Mountains. Mountains and waterfalls are my favorite things in the world and I can find both right here.

My vacation started out on the road to West Virginia. We stopped and stayed in St. Louis, Missouri on our way there. I got to go to the top of the arch. It was a rather neat sight. I saw 100’s of 5kers preparing and running their race in the downtown area and I saw other things from 630 feet high. I’m obviously not afraid of heights.

To get to the top we had to ride in these three feet wide car and there was five us in there. According to the nerd riding with me and my dad on the way down the ride was exactly three minutes and ten seconds. They had it pretty cool in there which taught me that I don’t necessarily panic in tight spaces because I’m claustrophobic, but because I can’t stand to be too hot. One usually goes in hand with the other. I still know that I’m claustrophobic because I got that way in the car, but it’s good to know that if I can just keep myself cool then I can do other things that I have wanted to do even though they were in such small spaces.

Then we traveled on to West Virginia where we saw my mom’s best friend from high school and her husband. Her friend lives in a tiny town with only around 1,000 people and guess what? They have a recycling center. My town has 70,000 or so people and it has almost the same things as them. The closest town to them has 60,000 people, but it just had such a variety of stuff to do. It was the town that I always had dreamed of living in. Small, almost traffic less, but still had something to DO. It was a cool place. Very pretty too even if the trees hadn’t gotten their leaves or anything yet. It would probably be amazing later on.

We went to the State Capitol and looked around. It had a gold dome, fancy right? We went to the senate and representative chamber which was neat. We were the only tourist type people there. All these people with fancy, nice suits and shoes, the women in ridiculously uncomfortable clothes and shoes, and I was walking around in a t-shirt with my shoes untied. I’m sure they were jealous.

Then we went bowling. I haven’t bowled in years and last time I bowled I wasn’t that good. Maybe a 60 or 70 on average. The two people we went with boasted of their awesome skills, but my dad ended up winning the first game and I, the second with a score of 113. The husband was pretty upset; I guess he’s pretty competitive. He was determined to beat me at tennis, but we didn’t end up having time to play. Too bad. I love tennis even though I’m terrible and I would have liked for him to have some of his pride back.

While we were there we ate at ‘Hillbilly Hotdogs’ as featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives on the food network. That place was intense. It was really overdone with hillbilly type decorations, but I guess I had a sense of humor for since I come from a hillbillied type town. I was apprehensive at first, but the food was good. We ate in a bus that was connected to the restaurant. How’s that for upcycling?

Then we made our way to Tennessee. We’re now in a cabin, a really nice cabin with everything a girl could want including the mountains. Yesterday we went to a couple of waterfalls we had to hike to. The first one we hike 1.3 miles to get to and it was all up-hill. With the steepness of the hike and the high altitude I thought I might die when we first started, but it really wasn’t too bad. I’ve been trying to get into better shape for a while and everything seems just as hard as it did when I first started, but I guess I may doing better than I thought.  Despite the steepness, my breathing never got super heavy and my legs never really started burning. It wasn’t easy, but it wasn’t very hard either. It was just perfect. And the weather was good to. I’ve complained about hating the heat (just wait until the summer, I’ll never shut up about it) and although winter would have been an awesome time to come, it really wasn’t that bad.

The next fall was only a .3 mile walk, so it was more a meander than anything. It was a cute little fall. My legs are getting a little sore and I can tell that I’ll be hurting in the morning. It wouldn’t be much of an issue, but this cabin has two floors and my room is on the top.

I’m obsessed with mountains and waterfalls and rivers and streams. Flowing water is just very relaxing for me. I thought for a moment that maybe I had been a trout or fish of some kind in one of my former lives and maybe I did something wrong, so I had to be demoted to a human, but that only explains why I like flowing water and contradicts everything else that I like, such as cats. I wish I could have seen more, but they were so far away and it takes too long. It was nice to see just the two.

That’s it so far. I’ll try to upload some pictures when I get home.My favorite part about vacation is getting to see all the different places. It’s nice to remember that there places outside of where I live and that no every place feels so dead. It’s good to be reminded that people are different and somewhere there’s actually a person or two that care about the environment  or wants to better themselves. I’m really loving this vacation.

Leave a Reply

