ABC’s

I found this on one of the blogs I read. She finds a way to laugh about everyday things. I started following her because I thought it would help me feel less serious. Clearly, it hasn’t worked. I would give her a pingback, but I think she would be horrified if she knew someone like me was reading. This is kind of serious, but not as serious as the stuff I’m usually writing about. It’s a nice break, for me at least.

A is for age: 19. The first time.

B is for breakfast today: Muffins and apples.

C is for currently craving: Nothing, right now which is so rare. It must be a miracle. Usually my craving is chocolate, but lately it has been taken over by meat. After I watched Food Inc. I made a decision not to eat meat at restaurants. At first it wasn’t so bad because the restaurants (we eat out like twice a week usually) had a good no meat option, but lately we’ve been eating at a lot of them that don’t. It’s a lot harder to go to certain places that have my favorite meat centered meal, but not a good substitute or not a good one at all. My mom got ‘organic’ meat or what we pray and hope to be organic (who really knows these days) and we have cut back. When I do crave meat, it’s not the sweet and innocent kind, but the tortured horrible meat from places like Taco Bell and Buffalo Wild Wings. These are all places that I had a favorite meal centered on the meat and I miss it like mad right now. I may break down and eat something like once a month because not having the hope at all is torture. Then I think of how selfish it is to say that when the cows are really being tortured. Oi. This is going to a long day.

D is for dinner tonight: I don’t know, yet.

E is for favorite type of exercise: I don’t really care for exercise. I do it a few times a week, at least, but I can’t say that I really like it. I like I would like running more, but I’m not really in good enough shape to really enjoy it.

F is for an irrational fear: It depends on what you call irrational. All my fears (I have quite a lot), spiders, a torturous death, not having any meaning in my life, etc, seem pretty rational, but you know.

G is for gross food: Just a few months before all this environmental stuff, I started getting into eating healthy food. My mom had tried for years to get me and my dad on that train, but it just crashed and burned. I crashed it, no denial. But I wanted to lose a little weight and I knew that to do that I had to eat healthier and also I was getting bored with my chicken and potatoes. I started branching out. I almost like cucumbers (which made me gag before), squash, zucchini, avocado. All these things that I hated before, but my mom has also cooks them differently now, I’m pretty sure. I would have to say that olives, black and green, are the ones that even the smell makes me want to throw up.

H is for hometown: I’ll tell you that I live in Oklahoma. That is all I will say. I live in a small town and you could easily find me and kill me.

I is for something important: Making your life mean something. I strongly and probably wrongly believe that the only reason humans should be here is so they can make the world a better place. Not just taking care of the earth, but takeing care of other people. If they’re not doing that then the planet should destroy us.

J is for current favorite jam: Grape? Or alternative and some 90’s rock?

K is for kids: Melody, Harmony. Cheerio is split into thirds. Mystique and Mr. T are either my step kids or my siblings. You’ll have to ask my parents about that. Maybe some dogs, hopefully someday, but no kids. The world is screwed up enough and already over-populated enough and will continue to get worse. I’d rather not be a part of that.

L is for current location: My room in I’m still not telling you where.

M is for the most recent way you spent money: Gasoline. I hardly buy anything.

N is for something you need: I really don’t feel like I need anything. I’ve got pretty much everything I want and need for the moment.

O is for occupation: Full-time student. Occasional article writer for the local paper.

P is for pet peeve: Oh my. This could take a while. I hate it when people don’t follow driving rules, but I think my biggest one is probably that people aren’t willing to give up convenience, comfort, or something of that nature to make something right. When people think they ‘need’ something or someone. I could thousands of them. And also when I have to rely on other people to do their job before I can do mine. That is why I love blogging. I rely on no one. Except for the people who read it. Thanks guys, you really are the best.

Q is for a quote: I love quotes, I could list thousands of them, but I don’t think people would really appreciate that, so I’ll try to narrow them down.

Both optimists and pessimists contribute to our society. The optimists invent the airplane, the pessimist the parachute. – G.B. Stern. It’s not a particularly deep quote, but anytime people have something to say about how my negativity, I quote this back to them.

Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The trouble makers. The ones who see things differently. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify them, or vilify them. But the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. The push the human race forward and while some see them as crazy, I see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world, are the ones who do. –Jack Kerouac

The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but those who watch them without doing anything. – Albert Einstein

Thou shall not be a victim. Thou shall not be a perpetrator. Above all, thou shall not be a bystander. –Holocaust Museum Hall

R is for random fact about you: I just officially passed my statistics class. Hopefully I’ll never have to touch another math book ever again.

S is for favorite healthy snack: I was going to say chocolate because it helps me breathe better and as far as I am concerned, breathing a pretty healthy thing. But I’m pretty sure I’m addicted to it and addictions are not healthy. I’m not going to lie. I really don’t care for healthy food. I eat it because it’s good for the environment and I don’t want to be another statistic for obesity, but I really don’t care for it. The sweets that my mom makes are pretty amazing and healthy compared to processed sweets. Does that count? If not, then I’m pretty sure her homemade granola bars would be considered healthy. They’re freaking fantabulous. I’ll have to come up with an awesome word just for them.

T is for favorite treat: My mom’s granola bars, cookie dough and…chocolate.

U is for something that makes you unique: I really struggled with this for the past few years. I’ve pretty much average, at best, in everything. Looks, intelligence, the one thing that I have that none of my friends or family has is a love of writing and books to some degree, but I’m an average writer, too. I never really have anything to talk about, but I never run out of things to write about (obviously).  I think the things that I like make me kind of unique. I like cats and dogs, but pretty much everyone I know hates cats. I love to argue. I can argue about just about anything with anyone and I have a comeback for everything. No one will argue with me anymore because they’re tired of it. They find it exhausting. And I like research papers and learning new things, but not usually in a school setting. I love snakes, lizards, and turtles, geckos. I love animals in general. None of these really make me unique by themselves, though.

V is for favorite vegetable: Asparagus. And only if it’s roasted and a little crispy. And mushrooms, but I don’t think those are counted as a vegetables.

W is for today’s workout: Picking up Harmony. I’ll be going to workout class tonight, but I really haven’t anything yet.

X is for X-rays you’ve had: I think back in kindergarten or something I got an x-ray and sometime in 8th grade or so I definitely had one. The one in 8th grade was for my right hand. The other one was for one of my hands.

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: There was nothing particularly exciting yesterday except that I was getting lost in the ghetto in my new car and I thought I was going to die. That wasn’t really a highlight, though.

Z is for your time zone: Central.

Well, these are my ABC’s, what’s yours?

Leave a Reply

